Custom Programming for Ankle Sprain Injury: Week 2, Day 2 of 3

Warmup:
5 min AirDyne EZ
Crossover Symmetry – Activation
Arm/Hip circles
Hip mob on bench + w/ lax ball
Self loaded banded calf on sprained ankle


A1. Close grip bench @ 30×1,
4×6-8, rest 90s:
33×8
43×8
53×8
63×8
73×7
I debated whether or not I should have had someone spotting me for the last set. Decided against it but I probably could have used someone to grind out that last rep. Can go heavier next time since workout says 6-8 reps.
A2. Pendlay row @ 20×1,
4×6-8, rest 90s:
33×8
43×8
53×8
63×8
73×8
Funny that this matched my benching numbers almost exactly. It wasn’t on purpose – just went with what felt right of course. Last set took some effort but doable. Can go heavier next time since workout says 6-8 reps.
B. Powell raise @ 30×1,
3×8-10, rest 90s b/w arms:
Set 1: 5#, 10 reps both arms
Set 2: 7.5#, 10 reps right arm, 8 reps left arm
Set 3: 7.5#, 10 reps right arm, 8 reps left arm
My PR for 8 reps on each arm is 10# but it was really hard to get those last 1-2 reps out with my left arm at 7.5#, so I decided to stay there. Weird. Really dread Powell raise but it’s just because it’s a weakness of mine.


8 sets:
20 sec AMRAP situps, rest 2 min
12, 12, 13, 13, 12, 13, 13, 13
Thought this was more than enough rest but I did get a little worn/sore towards the end, so I was thankful for it then. Pushed through it to try and keep the numbers up.


12 sets AD:
– 30 sec @ 90%
– 30 sec EZ
Did 10 sets due to a last-minute change of plans! Also, can you believe it? I did NOT hate this. My breathing was good throughout and I started feeling okay with being a little uncomfortable during my last few sets. Hope this is a lasting trend. Maybe I don’t hate AD forever?

Leave a Reply

