New weekly challenge / Day 17 – 18

Weekly Challenge #3: Water
I need to drink 1/2 oz of water for every pound of bodyweight every day. When I last checked two weeks ago I weighed 126 pounds. This means I’ll need to drink 63 oz of water a day (let’s say it’s 64 oz to make it easier to track). The specifics:

    — You can drink your water in the form of flat water, bubbly water, coconut water, or tea
    — Coffee does not count towards your water requirement
    — Spread your water out over the course of the day! It’s not good for you to guzzle several liters of water before bed, and it definitely won’t lead to a good night’s sleep

Day 17

Okay, gonna try breaking these posts up into clearer sections so I can refer to them later if needed.

Nutrition
Breakfast: are you surprised?

Snack: Banana, tiny bite of a pineapple spear, almonds, macadamia nuts and a carrot banana muffin.

Lunch: Salad, chili, half an apple and a hard-boiled egg.

Dinner: Really wanted some more of that WLC-compliant bacon so I made bacon and eggs for dinner. I scrambled six eggs with spinach, sausage, scallions and mushrooms. I ate half and saved the other half for a quick ready-made breakfast tomorrow.

After that I ate two unpictured carrot banana muffins…

WOD / Active Recovery
Got a little too cold for me to build up the strength to go outside for a run, so I decided to fall back on good ol’ tabata.

    Tabata Air Squats
    1 – 10. 13

    Tabata Pushups (on knees)
    1. 7
    2. 6
    3. 5
    4-6. 4
    7. 6
    8. 5
    9-10. 4

Mobility
Lax balled/foam rolled my back and left shoulder HARD. There’s some tendon (?) back there that clicks when I move my shoulder up to my neck and back down again. No clicking whatsoever when I do it with my right shoulder. My left side has always had issues…

Fish Oil
Yep, done. I’ve been texting with a gym friend whenever either of us takes our fish oil so that neither of us forget. It rocks.

Water
Drank two 8 oz cups of tea and 48 oz of water, so that’s 64 oz. I have Camelbak water bottles that hold 24 oz of water, so as long as I drink around 2 3/4 bottle’s worth of water a day I’m good. I usually end up hitting around this amount everyday anyway so this shouldn’t be too hard.

Day 18

Nutrition
Breakfast: Leftover eggs from last night’s dinner.

Snack: almonds, macadamia nuts, carrot banana muffin, hard-boiled egg and a banana.

Lunch: salad with leftover pieces of chicken thigh thrown in, chili and half an apple. Though yet another muffin is pictured, I didn’t actually eat it until after work. I think my bread craving is all woken up again. Great. At least it’s almond flour…

Dinner: I roasted a cut-up whole chicken with olive oil, paprika, salt, pepper and oregano. White asparagus and sweet potato on the side. The white asparagus was almost inedible, and I later learned that they should be prepared differently from regular asparagus. I guess I forgot to peel them…? I was just trying to experiment with my veggies a little! At least I know for next time.

WOD / Active Recovery
Went for a run/jog around the park. Each lap is 0.5 miles and I usually just go around twice since that’s when the 10 minute mark hits. I always tell myself to go another lap or two but then I get lazy and stop anyway. My back’s just been killing me so I don’t want to push it.

Mobility
Finally remembered to bring my lax ball to work. Was so incredibly helpful in getting me through the day. I just put the ball between my trouble spots and the chair and move around as needed. It makes my back feel almost 100% normal, but when I stop using it for an hour or so the pain slowly creeps back. I’ll have to buy a second one to keep at work so that I don’t have to remember to bring it every day.

This is me on my office floor, lax balling my back in desperation.

And here’s how I tackle the water situation: with marked water bottles.

Fish Oil: 1000 mg
Water: 64 oz

2 responses to “New weekly challenge / Day 17 – 18

  1. k

    Be careful of Paleo treats! I know its awesome because it tastes good and is made of all Paleo friendly ingredients but ’tis a slippery slope. Just based on personal exxxp, almond flour is pretty dense and made of tons of almonds, and.. kinda tips your caloric (plus your OM3:OM6 intake) scale way way more than you expect. It is of course, better than conventional treats but its still a treat! Not to get in your face about it 🙂 everything else looks so solid! Also, isn’t amazing how much more likely you are to stick to paleo when its a “challenge” vs no challenge. It’s so.. CF.

    • Nathalie

      Yup, this is the one and only batch of treats I will bake during this challenge. I had no idea they were gonna be this delicious and I was gonna plow through so many. Thanks so much for the insight!

      Haha yeah, challenges always put me in a good place. If anything, I always try to take at least one thing away from a challenge. This time I think the fish oil habit will stick. Can’t wait to have my protein shakes again, though (can’t now because of whey).

Leave a Reply

