Whole Life Challenge

From September 15 – November 10, 2012 I will be participating in the Whole Life Challenge. The purpose of The Whole Life Challenge is to see what sort of impact I can have on my body, my fitness and my lifestyle habits over the course of eight weeks, and to train in having a health and fitness practice that is sustainable for the long term.

There are three categories that make up the criteria for the game:

  1. Performance – How much can you improve in a workout (faster time, more reps, better score)?
  2. Body – How many inches can you lose off of your body (based on circumferential measurements)?
  3. Lifestyle & Accountability – How consistent can you be over 56 days in maintaining healthy habits 
and being accountable for your results in your daily life?

Every day I can earn 6 possible points: 3 for 
nutrition, 1 for working out, 1 for mobilization, and 1 for taking fish oil. I’m kind of freaked out by the fish oil part, but I gotta do what I gotta do. Here are the details regarding each section of the challenge:

Nutrition – 3 points
During the challenge I’m are only allowed to eat REAL food: meat, seafood, fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds.

Here’s what we can’t have, with a few exceptions: no grains or starches (exceptions: legumes and sweet potatoes/yams), no corn or soy, no sugar or sweetener of any kind (exception: Stevia, which I will probably not use), no dairy (exception: butter), no alcohol, soda or juice (exceptions: lemon and lime juice), and no artificial or processed ingredients or foods.

Working Out – 1 point
I need to engage in some kind of active recovery workout everyday for at least 10 minutes. Active recovery is defined as intentionally engaging in some form of movement with the purpose of improving your fitness. Examples: jogging, recreational cycling or skating, hiking, yoga, etc.

Mobilization – 1 point
Mobilizing or stretching daily will net me the mobilization point. Any kind of mobilization or stretching counts: soft tissue work with a foam roller or lacrosse ball, static stretching, yoga, etc. Massage does not fulfill the mobilization requirement.

Fish Oil – 1 point
The part I’m dreading: I must take a dose of fish oil every day. There is no minimum dose requirement, though the recommended dosage is 4000mg combined EPA & DHA. I’m just really scared of fish burps even though everyone I’ve talked to said they’re not a big deal at all. Some fish oil capsules are even burpless, so I’ve gonna try and find those.

Why am I doing this?
I’m doing the challenge to try and make some good habits stick, especially the fish oil one. I’m also hoping this will get me stretching and/or moving every single day from now on, no matter what. And to be vain about it, a little more muscle couldn’t hurt!

My initial and ending workout will be:
9 minute AMRAP:
7 KB swings (24kg / 16kg)
7 burpees
50m shuttle run

Total number of reps is what counts, not total number of rounds. Scaling is an option! However, I must use the same weights at the finals that I use at the prelims.

3 responses to “Whole Life Challenge

  1. SWEET. It’s funny, I randomly decided to look at your website today and you updated it! I need to participate in some kind of challenge myself but I haven’t really decided how or when. I’ll be going on vacation in an almost exactly a month, so I feel like it might be a good time for a dietary challenge, even though I eat 85%? paleo anyway.

    Re: fish oil, I tried take regular ones, it was super gross after 1 day, I couldn’t handle it. I take cod liver oil instead. No fish aftertaste, so so so much better. But can you take that? This is what I use, you can get it at whole foods. http://www.carlsonlabs.com/p-31-cod-liver-oil.aspx

    Re: mobilization, do you own a lacrosse ball? you must! life saver. and mobilitywod. of course.

    • Nathalie

      Dude, that’s crazy that you just checked it today! I’m so flattered.

      No, we can only do fish oil. Did you do liquid or capsules? I tried a friend’s liquid packet of fish oil that was lemon-lime flavor and it was actually pretty yummy. I don’t know if I could do it everyday though, which is why I was considering capsules now.

      Yes, love my lacrosse ball. Foam roller, too. MobilityWOD does rock. Our gym regularly implements MWod stuff into their programming which is great. Was thinking of getting two more balls soon to tape together.

      I hope you do some kind of challenge soon! It’s pretty fun (in a weird way) and you get to learn a lot.

      I’m so excited that you’re doing such a good job with paleo. I’ve been really bad about it these past few weeks leading up to Saturday. Trying to get my carb fix in, I guess. 🙂

      I didn’t realize you had a Tumblr with your workouts. Subscribed!

      • These look good but expensive 😦 http://us.purepharma.com/athletes.php. I think capsules are more my thing personally but I haven’t tried liquid so I guess I can’t say..

        I have read good things about these too http://bonfirehealth.com/bonfire-store/ and they offer less expensive/smaller options.

        Ya, I don’t think that’s one is for me just based on the timeframe and I mainly would like a dietary one. I like the idea of a challenge though, there’s a handfuI of things I’d like to clean up (energy bars, diary !, chocolate), Paleo is pretty easy for me, I never have full cheat days (occasional cheat moments?), but then again, I make most of my own meals and that helps so much. I know that not everyone has the time for that but actually learning to IF has helped me a lot in this regard if you get around to that. It took me quite a long time (like 6 months of fairly strict paleo) to get to that point, but so useful!

Leave a Reply

