Big Cheat at RenFest / Day 14 – 16

Day 14
All of these breakfasts are now blurring together.

Lunch: Leftover chicken in cashew sauce, broccoli, and an apple on the side.

I had a couple bell peppers to use up so I decided to try out a new meal for dinner: stuffed peppers. I broke up the very last of the meatballs and cooked that meat with some turkey sausage, threw in some diced tomatoes, onion, spinach and garlic, spooned it into the peppers and baked them for about 20 minutes. Served with Brussels sprouts. The peppers were really good, but it was a little difficult to eat so much pepper at once. Guess I’m not used to it.

Day 15
Oh, boy. Went to the Maryland Renaissance Festival on this day with some friends. We all decided to dress up and I went as an elf! I’d actually been planning my outfit out for weeks so I was really looking forward to it.

I started the day off right with a proper breakfast. Had green tea for the first time during this challenge. I’ve tried to drink it in the past and then remembered why I stopped. I’m just not a huge fan of it.

Lunch: I did research ahead of time and knew that the steak on a stake would be great for my paleo challenge, so I had that. It tasted pretty good.

Just an hour or so later my stomach started rumbling, so I decided to get a pork chop on a stick and sweet potato fries. I started eating the pork chop and realized it was definitely marinated in something sweet/sugary. The thought of wasting a pork chop just because of a food challenge was too much for me, so I decided to make lunch my cheat meal and ate it anyway. I won’t lie; it was freakin’ delicious.

I also noticed that the fries were coated in some kind of breading but since I already ruined lunch I might as well eat them, too…with that dip you see pictured.

Of course this started a slippery slope and I decided to just go all the way and drink lots of delicious beer.

I drank four beers. Is that a lot? I thought it was just right.

For dinner I had leftover cashew chicken and some nasty-tasting broccoli. There’s just something about overcooked leftover broccoli that turns me off.

Day 16
Same ol’ breakfast. Maybe I should try to make something new with eggs. Poaching might be fun.

My husband Cory went off to a local Barcraft (watching Starcraft at a bar) later that morning, so I had the whole day to myself to do lots of wife-ly things: laundry, cook, clean, and shop for groceries. I personally don’t mind doing these things at all—it’s all very relaxing to me, especially if I’m not rushing around.

Last week I bought two gorgeous butternut squashes at a nearby farm with the intention of making soup when I had time, so I decided to take it on.

As I was peeling the squash, something very strange started happening to my left hand. It felt stiff and dry, almost like there was a buildup of starch on it. I tried washing my hands and scrubbing it off, but I realized I was actually scrubbing my skin off. The squash was making my skin peel! I looked it up and learned that this happened more often than you’d think. There’s an enzyme in squashes, pumpkins, and other gourds that makes some people’s skin react that way. So weird.

Besides that, the soup came together very well. I swirled in a couple spoonfuls of coconut milk to make it a little creamier. It made for a delicious lunch. Protein-less, yes, but still delicious.

I met Cory at the bar a little later and ordered jerk chicken topped with mango. Sides were steamed vegetables and rice. I ate everything except the rice, of course. The chicken was much better than I was expecting.

Leave a Reply

