Wonders of Turkey Sausage / Day 11 – 13

Day 11
Breakfast was the usual: scrambled eggs with mushrooms, baby spinach, and the last of the zucchini I accidentally grew. Downed with black coffee. Ate a banana later.

Lunch was leftover beef chili with a side salad of arugula, cucumber, tomatoes and avocado, topped with a homemade balsamic vinaigrette.

At CrossFit we spent 10 minutes finding out our max height box jump. We started off with a 20″ box, moved up to a 24″ box, then slowly started stacking rubber 10 lb weights on top of the 24″ box. I couldn’t believe how high I started getting! Sometimes my brain would get scared and not let me jump, so it was a challenge to overcome that feeling. My max height box jump ended up being 38.5″. My coach thought it might actually be the highest female box jump at the CrossFit gym. Heck yeah.

We halved our max height for the actual WOD, but I just decided to go with the 20″ box to keep things simple. CrossFit WOD:

    400 meter run

    1-2-3-4-5-4-3-2-1: Burpee box jumps / Handstand push-ups
    
400 meter run
    After the first run it goes: 1BBJ, 1 HSPU, 2 BBJ, 2 HSPU…

Every time I think I’ve done my hardest workout yet, it always ends up getting topped by something else. This was that next hard-as-hell workout. I don’t think I’ve ever sweat so much in my life! The handstand push-ups were my least favorite part. We were given a few options of how we could do them, and I chose to put my knees on the box and plant my hands down on the ground to make my body as vertical as possible. I had to hit the ground with my head for each push-up. So hard. The run at the end was like a mean joke. I finished this workout in 12:24.

When I got home I ate half of a sweet potato as recovery food. I made some scallops and a big side salad for dinner. Since I didn’t finish my sweet potato I ate the rest of it with my meal.

Day 12
Started the day off with the best scrambled eggs I’ve had so far. At Whole Foods I FINALLY found a pack of sausage that I could actually eat. It’s a homemade brand of turkey sausage that has all natural ingredients. All the other sausages were at least tainted with canola oil, which I’m not allowed to have. Anyway, these eggs were amazing. Banana later, of course.

For lunch I ate leftover meatballs and asparagus with an arugula side salad. Arugula is so delicious.

Crossfit WOD:

    Quarter Gone Bad
    Five rounds for total reps of:
    135 pound thrusters for 15 seconds
    
Rest 45 seconds
    
50 pound weighted pull-ups for 15 seconds
    Rest 45 Seconds
    
Burpees for 15 seconds

Thank God for the rest in between. This could have been really horrible without it, but compared to what I was used to, this was very manageable. I did the thrusters (my least favorite part) with 53 lb and did the pull-ups with a blue band. My five rounds looked like this:
5 (thrusters) / 5 (pull-ups) / 5 (burpees)
4 / 6 / 5
4 / 5 / 5
4 / 5 / 5
3 / 7 / 6

This totaled out to 74 reps in all.

Dinner was the chicken in cashew sauce that I learned to make at the paleo cooking demo. I was missing one of the ingredients used (sambal) so it didn’t taste exactly as I remembered, but it was still extremely good. Making cashew butter was pretty awesome, too. I borrowed a friend’s food processor and it made me realize how badly I need one.

Day 13
Breakfast: eggs and other additions with that heavenly turkey sausage. Snack: banana.

Lunch: more leftover meatballs with an arugula side salad.

Dinner: Chipotle! I got double meat and guacamole. I tried to finish this entire bowl but ended up leaving behind a just a few forkfuls.

Leave a Reply

